Countdown to Thanksgiving

Being an immigrant (as well as a true lover of the great north), I generally fully embrace Canadian culture in whatever form it arrives. However, celebrating thanksgiving (that’s right, I used a lowercase ‘t’ on purpose) in October just doesn’t cut it for me. I need the real deal, you know, the one that happens in November!

When it comes to American Thanksgiving, we generally head south of the border to celebrate with our American family, but this year we decided against traveling for a myriad of reasons. However, I have still found myself itching to celebrate this season of thankfulness with food, friends and family. That said, if I can’t be in America, I could (and should) still throw an American Thanksgiving. While we won’t be able to celebrate in my family’s traditional style (a 3pm dinner followed by a nap, and then a 7pm dinner) because people actually have to work, I am fairly certain that it will still be a memorable event. To keep things easy and stress free on Thursday, I finished off a few menu items (cranberry sauce, apple galette, and pumpkin pie) tonight!


Happy (almost) Thanksgiving!

4 thoughts on “Countdown to Thanksgiving

  1. We are also celebrating us thanksgiving in Canada. Your food pics look delicious! Enjoy tomorrow. My daughters partner is American and he is cooking dinner as he too misses it.
    Jenny

  2. Pingback: Stuffing & Shortbread | (Northern) Simple Life

Leave a Reply

