it was a warm summer night so i decided to make a cup of peppermint tea

You probably don’t happen to google ‘burns lake weather’ as much as I do (which is obsessively), but if you do, you would know that the past week has been unusually HOT! With this burst of warm weather came days and evenings spent lounging on party island, soaking up all the sun possible in order to off set those -40 degree days, and entertaining wonderful out of town visitors.

One set of recent visitors persuaded me to pick up (and by pick up I really mean invest in amazon.com and wait two weeks for my order to arrive) Home Made, an incredible DIY cookbook that is quirky and fun to read (not to mention well worth the wait), but also boasts tricks and straightforward recipes that work well in rural locations where Whole Foods is less than local. Plus, it happens to cater to my love for all things homemade.

When the temperatures dropped this evening, I opened up my new book and got excited about all of the amazing possibilities! I realized that Friday Night Dinners aren’t enough, I need to host more parties, start Sunday brunches, and invite guests for afternoon tea!!! However, while that wasn’t really a possibility tonight, Yvette’s recipes for homemade tea got me thinking about the peppermint exploding in my greenhouse…

After some careful reading and creative thought, I decided I could probably forgo the usual tea bag and opt instead for a few sprigs of fresh mint. Who knew!?

Needless to say, I am pretty impressed. Enough that I decided to document my tea adventure. The tea is sweeter, smoother, and far less aggressive than its boxed counterpart. I may never buy tea again!

With my first adventure complete, I plan to stay up all night reading and re-reading this amazing cookbook. Don’t worry, I will let you know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

