northern BC camping (aka camping in the rain)

A few weeks back we decided to camp in honour of Canada Day (which, by the way, was this weekend, for all of you foreigners), well before reading the weather forecast. Friday afternoon, as the week-long rains continued to pour over our little village, I cautiously asked a few colleagues whether northerners are ever deterred by inclement weather. They assured me that true northerners are not and that a little rain shouldn’t deter our trip, even if we were planning to sleep in a tent.

I should interject here that throughout my childhood, my family spent summers doing what I thought was hardcore outdoorsy camping, but now understand to be a more glamourous, fair weather only, car-camping kind of camping. Those sunny experiences might also have had something to do with the pool, candy shop, and the 2 minute commute to the local Ellensburg Starbucks…

As those sunny experiences are my only camping experiences to draw from, I certainly wasn’t sure what to make of a camping trip scheduled in the rain. However, being the true northerner that I am, I pressed on and, despite the continued Friday night rain, Saturday was gorgeous and we enjoyed spending time outside around a campfire with great friends and family. I even had a chance to take some beautiful pictures of Francois Lake.

Cam cooked up this amazing breakfast on Saturday morning using the camp stove (for the first time) that we received from my brother as a wedding gift a couple of years ago. Thanks, Josh!

And then it started raining again early on Sunday morning. We decided we should buy a camper for next time. In any case, Happy Canada Day!

Leave a Reply

