what happens when you don’t water your plants

I thought about calling this “what happens when you FORGET to water your plants”, but that wouldn’t be entirely truthful. A few seasons back, my initial attempt at northern gardening never really took off and my family let me know that it was because I neglected to water as often as an authentic green thumb should. Sounds easy enough, but I had other things to do and watering the garden kind of fell off the plate. Lesson learned. So, naturally, when it came to this year’s carefully constructed gardening plans, I took to watering these plants like a good little mama: I checked their growth daily, I wondered whether the sun was hitting them in the right spot and I adjusted them often, I even thought about getting the hardening process started in the near future. Then suddenly the sun came out, the  temperature began to rise, and I got into adventuring rather than tending to my little sprouts.

While I frequently thought about watering them and never forgot about them per se, I certainly took a little break from caring. Oops! That said, I walked into this ugly scene today…

and this one too…

and another…

You will all be relieved to know that I watered them promptly and they were looking a little more lively later this evening. I am fairly certain the sturdy plants will make a full recovery; however, I guess I better take this a little more seriously!

One thought on “what happens when you don’t water your plants

  1. Totally convicted right now. My plants are probably pretty thirsty after the past couple days of neglect. Now I’ve been reminded and warned – there’s no excuse. 🙂

Leave a Reply

