What -40 Degrees Celsius Feels Like

This morning I woke up to frozen pipes in my kitchen for the second time in two days. After I put the space heater to work defrosting the pipes (which took four hours), I layered up to brave the outdoors: two pairs of socks, leggings, thickest jeans, t-shirt, long-sleeve t-shirt, thick woolen sweater, wrist warmers, mittens, slightly embarrassing (but only in Vancouver) puff coat that comes to my knees, large scarf and toque. I admit, I was probably slightly overdressed, but I honestly have never felt -40 in my life, so I wanted to be prepared.

I went to start my car with my fingers crossed. Could the little blue Cobalt handle this weather? Even with my trusty block heater, I wasn’t so sure. But with only a little hesitation, the engine came to life.

After a stop at the local coffee shop to buy the coffee I couldn’t make without running water, my car didn’t fare quite so well, though. Despite my 10 minute warm-up earlier, the Cobalt decided it was just too much to ask to give me power steering. Thankfully, it came back later in the day and all has been good since.

I’m not sure exactly how to describe what -40 feels like. Your nose hairs freeze, the snow squeaks when you walk on it, touching metal with your bare hand burns, and I hear they did some sort of experiment at the college involving food-coloured water that froze in midair. All I know is that it has been a brand new experience for me, and I’m doing my darndest to at least on some level appreciate it.

Linette

5 thoughts on “What -40 Degrees Celsius Feels Like

  1. Pingback: Dresser Revamp | Northern Simple Life

  2. Pingback: it was a warm summer night so i decided to make a cup of peppermint tea | Northern Simple Life

Leave a Reply

